Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor - First Version (Brass Quintet)

Full details...
page one of Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor - First Version (Brass Quintet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Brass Quintet arrangement of J.S.Bach’s Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor.

I’ve tried to keep the arrangement as close to the original organ score as possible. Where some of the original lines go out of the standard range of the instrument, an easier octave is written in small notes.

You can play both the Passacaglia and the Fugue attacca as written, rall two bars before the Fugue and pause on the last note of bar 160 to just play the Passacaglia, or began at bar 161 with the upbeat from the 2nd trumpet to just play the Fugue.

If played without a conductor, the piece will work at the same tempo throughout, and there are some optional parts added in to help keep time in sparce places.

If played a with a conductor, the time can be pulled around in different sections to add variety.

The 1st trumpet part can be played on a piccolo trumpet if that makes it easier.

The tuba part can also be played on a bass trombone, and some of the tuba part can be displaced at the octave if desired.

Feel free to contact me if you have any suggestions or if you need a part transposing differently.

Good luck and have fun!

Score ID
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Brass quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor - First Version (Brass Quintet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...