Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam: Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013)

Joel Jacklich (A.S.C.A.P.)
Full details...
page one of Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam: Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Mitch Sturman, director of the Wilson Jr. H. S. “Warrior” Band in El Centro, CA, asked me to compose a piece to commemorate our mutual friend, composer Elliot Del Borgo, who passed away only a week after he had conducted one of his commissioned works at 2013's "Concert of Premieres" at Wilson. The result was the Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013).

The two sections were originally conceived as two separate ideas, hoping one would come to fruition. Both sections began to take root, so eventually the two pieces were combined into a single piece.

At Mr. Sturman's suggestion, the passacaglia begins with the three initials of Mr. Del Borgo’s name: E(flat), D, B(flat) and continues in a downward motion in ¾ time (typical of passacaglias) and represents sadness at his passing.

The Fughetta theme (in its original form before being transposed to combine with the passacaglia) was Mr. Del Borgo's name spelled out musically:

E (the pitch E), L (La=A), L (La=A), I (Ti=B), O (Do=C), T (Ti=B);

D (the pitch D), E (the pitch E), L (La=A);

B (the pitch B), O (Do=C), R (Re=D), G (the pitch G), O (Do=C).

When the two ideas were combined. The fughetta theme was transposed from its original in A minor/C Major key scheme to E minor/G Major in order to parallel the G minor of the opening passacaglia. Where the passacaglia represented sadness at Mr. Del Borgo's passing, the fugato section represents the arrival of a feeling of peace.

Joel Jacklich, El Centro, CA, April, 4, 2014

Score ID
Joel Jacklich (A.S.C.A.P.)
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
String orchestra
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam: Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...