Three Old English Tunes (4 Clarinets)

Year of arrangement
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Classroom materials and Classical music
Quartet (Clarinet in Bb)

Now is the Month of Maying, Lavender’s Blue and John Come Kiss Me Now, arranged for four clarinets.

Ideal as a concert set for a group of students who are at slightly different levels. Parts 1 and 4 are best suited to players of around ABRSM Grade 2 – 3 standard. Part 2 was designed to provide easy-level experience of playing in the upper register, while Part 3 is well within the scope of a Grade 1 clarinet player who has good understanding of basic rhythms. If the three pieces are played as a set, each part will have a turn at the melody.

Play one to a part using the four essential (numbered) parts, or double players to perform with a larger group.

Handy cover sheet reminds teachers of the note range/difficulty of the different parts.

page one of Three Old English Tunes (4 Clarinets)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Catriona Melville-Mason. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.