On 30th June 1916, the Southdown Battalions, also known as “Lowther’s Lambs” of the Royal Sussex Regiment, were engaged in an attack 24 hours before the infamous “First Day of the Somme”. This was a large-scale raid launched by 39th Division at a position called the Boar’s Head near Richebourg L’Avoue. As a consequence of this fruitless attack, 1,100 casualties (dead, wounded and prisoners) were incurred; the vast majority of these losses were to men from the County of Sussex. For almost 97 years 30th June has held great significance for the people of Sussex, for the 30th June became known as “The Day Sussex Died”. Because of my military background, (I spent 8 years as a musician in The Queens’ Regiment), I felt that this was a great story to write music to. The piece, called The Day Sussex Died, is composed for full orchestra and comprises 4 movements:

I The Southdowns (Call to Arms) II Letters Home III The Boar’s Head Massacre IV Evening Hymn & Last Post (We shall remember them)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Dominic Smith. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dominic Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.