Symphony No.2 - Third Movement. Op 7

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This movement is written in the form of an eastern dance with a simple ABBA' structure. The pizzicato strings and harp are used to provide a 'galloping' background for the A section. The melody is simple and is passed around the orchestra to maintain continuity. A short harp solo leads to a furious bridge into a swirling 'B' section. Here the bassoon introduces the secondary melody before passing it to the trombone. The pace is eased off through the remainder of the 'B' section only to pick up again for the repeat. The recap of the 'A' section sees the lead instruments swapped towards brass and woodwind. A quiet harp passage then leads through to a climactic coda. I hope this piece leaves you with images of deserts, horses and furious swirling dancers - a scherzo with a difference

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Mitchell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan Mitchell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.