Home > Choir > Videamus: 3. Gloria in Excelsis Deo

Videamus: 3. Gloria in Excelsis Deo

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the Third of Five Christmas Motets composed for The Circle Singers of Washington DC. The text is the traditional "Glory to God in the highest and peace to his people on earth!" In addition to its place in the center of the motet cycle, this brief work mignt be an effective introit for Christmas Eve or another festive occasion. The six-part divisi would be at the director's discretion, making sure that all six parts are equally balanced.

It is amazing how the space affects a performance. If you listen to all five of the mp3s of this work, you will be able to tell that the work was performed in three different locations. This is the second night. I think it captures the excitement, while still being accurate! The chorus is Circle Singers.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Robert Passow. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Robert Passow has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.