Mozart: Aria No.14 (Der Holle Rache)( Queen of the Night Aria) (The Magic Flute ) arr. wind quintet featuring clarinet

Queen of the Night Aria

W A Mozart arr.Ray THompson
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Mozart: Aria No.14 (Der Holle Rache)( Queen of the Night Aria) (The Magic Flute ) arr. wind quintet featuring clarinet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The 14th Piece in Mozarts opera "The Magic Flute": "Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen" ("Hell’s vengeance boils in my heart"), commonly abbreviated Der Hölle Rache, is the second aria sung by the Queen of the Night, a soprano coloratura part, in Mozart’s opera The Magic Flute (Die Zauberflöte). It is considered to be one of the most famous opera arias, highly memorable, fast paced and menacingly grandiose. It is often referred to as the Queen of the Night’s Aria despite the fact that the Queen of the Night character sings another distinguished aria earlier in the opera, "O zittre nicht, mein lieber Sohn". The aria is widely renowned for being a demanding piece to perform well. The aria’s vocal range covers two octaves, from F4 to F6 and requires a very high tessitura. I have given the solo to the clarinet which goes up to high G. (ossia lower octave works as well) It suits the wind quintet. I have added additional horn sustaining notes, but used the natural horn in F harmonic series. Good fun for your clarinettist.

Score ID
W A Mozart arr.Ray THompson
Year of composition
Ray Thompson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Mozart: Aria No.14 (Der Holle Rache)( Queen of the Night Aria) (The Magic Flute ) arr. wind quintet featuring clarinet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...