Home > String orchestra > Cantate K619

Cantate K619

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Franz Heinrich Ziegenhagen
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts

This "little German Cantata" was composed by Mozart in 1791. The text is by Franz Heinrich Ziegenhagen, an industrialist who wished to found a colony devoted to idealistic living, and was written as a supplement to his brochure. The words speak of pacifism, of universal brotherhood, with an oblique reference to naturism! All of which reflected the liberal philosophy of the time, with which Mozart would have come into contact as a member of a Viennese Masonic Lodge.

Originally composed for soprano and piano this work was orchestrated for strings in the early 1940’s but this arrangement is now believed lost during the bombing of Dresden. I made this arrangement for a concert given on 29 March 2003 at St George’s Church, Beckenham, Kent given by the Bromley Oecumenical Singers Concert Orchestra, soprano Julia Raeburn conducted by Richard Apsley. Although written with a string orchestra in mind it can be performed by either just string quintet or string quartet.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Adrian Connell. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Adrian Connell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.