Le lac (A. Jacques / Lamartine) - Voice & piano - bilingual

The Lake

Ashley Meliki Shoup
Full details...
page one of Le lac (A. Jacques / Lamartine) - Voice & piano - bilingual

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This famous poem by Lamartine, dated 1817, in its original form of 16 stanzas, is structured in 3 parts: a first series of 5 stanzas (quatrains made of three 12-foot verses– plus one 6-foot verse) , followed by 4 stanzas of a different type (quatrains of alternating 12-foot and 6-foot verses), and then 7 stanzas of the initial type. This long poem has been reduced here by half: 4 + 2 + 2 = 8 stanzas. It is a meditation on the transience of time, love and life. It has also been set to music by Louis Niedermeyer (1802-1861). Litteral translation (AJ):

1. Thus, always pushed towards new lands, In the eternal night carried without return, Will we ever be able, on the ocean of time, To throw the anchor one single day?

2. O! lake, the year has just finished its cycle, And, besides the dear waters she was due to see again, Look! I come alone to sit on this rock Where you saw her sit!

3. One evening, do you remember? we were boating in silence; One could hear in the distance, on the waters and under the skies, Only the noise of the oarsmen who were hitting in cadence Your harmonious surface.

4. All of a sudden tones unknown to the earth Echoed on the spell-bound banks; The waters listen attentively, and the darling voice Dropped those words:

5. "O! time suspend your flight! and you, auspicious hourds, Suspend your course! Let us relish the swift delights Of our most beautiful days.

6. "Let’s thus love, let’s thus love! The runaway hour Let’s hasten, let’s enjoy! Man has no harbour, time has no banks, It flows, and we go along!"

7. O! lake! mute rocks! grottos! dark forest! You that time saves or can make younger, Keep from that night, keep, beautiful nature, At least the memory!

8. May the wind that moans, the reed that sighs, May the light scents of thy balmy air, All that we hear, see or breathe, All say: "They have loved!"

Score ID
Year of composition
Ashley Meliki Shoup
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Le lac (A. Jacques / Lamartine) - Voice & piano - bilingual

Reviews of Le lac (A. Jacques / Lamartine) - Voice & piano - bilingual

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...