Serenade in B-flat Major "Gran Partita" K. 361 Mvmt. 2, Menuetto 1

"Gran Partita" K. 361, Mvmt. 2, Menuetto 1

W. A. Mozart Arranged by Darrell Goforth
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts

Also known as the Gran Partita, the serenade in B-flat was originally scored for 13 winds: pairs of oboes, clarinets, bassett horns, horns in Eb, horns in Bb, bassoons and a contrabassoon. Written 1n 1781, it is considered Mozart’s greatest work for winds alone. Since it is always my goal to keep as much of the original ambience as possible when reducing a work to quintet size, this score presented quite a challenge. It is also a bit challenging to perform, our group as found it well worth the effort. Since the entire score runs almost 50 minutes, we usually only perform 2 or 3 movements. Audiences especially appreciate the 3rd, 5th and 7th movements, but they are all very enjoyable to play.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Darrell Goforth. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Darrell Goforth has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.