Purcell: Chacony (Chaconne) in G minor Z730 arr. wind quintet

Chaconne in G Minor

H Purcell arr.Ray Thompson
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Purcell: Chacony (Chaconne) in G minor  Z730 arr. wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Chacony in G minor is one of Purcell’s best known pieces. It dates from sometime around 1680 – which means he’d have been all of 21 when he composed it. It’s based on a freely varied descending tetrachord which technically makes it a passacaglia rather than a chaconne (’chacony’ is just an anglicisation of the French word) and was written to accompany dancing, either at the court or in the theatre. Originally, written for strings and continuo, I have arranged it for wind quintet. It lasts almost 6 minutes at crotchet=80 and I have taken some small liberties with the parts. To enable the players to breath, the 4 individual string parts are spread amongst the 5 members of the quintet, and I have tried to avoid a tutti of all 5.The bass line moves between bassoon and horn. An exciting piece of baroque music.

Score ID
H Purcell arr.Ray Thompson
Ray Thompson
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Purcell: Chacony (Chaconne) in G minor Z730 arr. wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...