Fractured lines

An interpretation of Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue

J. S. Bach
Full details...
page one of Fractured lines

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Art of Fugue was Bach’s final (unfinished) contrapuntal Testament, in which he sought to demonstrate as many different technical and stylistic treatments of a single theme as he could. This interpretation of Contrapunctus 1 is influenced by Webern’s approach to arranging and to orchestration, and has fragmented Bach’s themes and reconstructed them, so that the piece is made up not of unbroken melodic lines, but of tiny pieces of musical mosaic. The arrangement is for a modified Wind Quintet, using the darker colours of alto flute, oboe d’amore and alto saxophone in place of flute, oboe and clarinet. Ossia parts are available for oboe or cor anglais, to replace the oboe d’amore if necessary.

Score ID
J. S. Bach
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Fractured lines

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...