Home > Quartet > Sonata K. 533

Sonata K. 533

W. A. Mozart
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Clarinet in Bb)

This sonata was written for piano, but works well in the lower part of the clarinet’s range, the tessitura Mozart exploited so lovingly in his compositions for clarinet. The alto and bass clarinet parts are similar in colour to the bottom register of the basset horn, one of Mozart’s favourite chamber instruments. Part 3 is available in a transposition for basset horn in F, in lieu of alto clarinet, depending on what instruments are available.

The score of this arrangement is offered free of charge: the intention thereby is to enable quartets to print out an 'approval' copy and decide whether they like it. If you like the arrangement and wish to perform it, please could you then purchase a set of parts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Peter Foster. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.