Short Piano trio

Full details...
page one of Short Piano trio

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This 2 and a half minute little piano trio was written on 1st September 2014 and was my first attempt at composing on Sibelius. I wrote the first third in the afternoon, then after tea came the second section and the recap. Occasionally I’ll write a short piece in one go when an idea comes, but usually it’s a much harder struggle! I liked this so much that I spent the next 5 weeks writing a longer version - see "Autumn Lift" in the related scores link.

I was very pleased with the expressive capabilities of Sibelius which inspired me to write this piece. It’s in ternary form.

The piano trio starts with the 2 bar figure then the piano sets the key and pace.The Cello starts on a low E then a tune on the violin interplays with a countermelody on the cello. The 2 instruments end the A section with descending clashes and resolutions.

Part B starts with a return of the opening 2 bars (in E minor). The descending clashes and resolutions from section A are taken up in E minor, a little more dissonant this time. Then after a tiny bridge passage of 2 bars an ambiguous chord of E B F# A C# leads to a strong tune in the violin with a forceful Cello counter melody. This idea is swapped between the strings with double stopping on the violin. The melody repeats in a more subdued mode and gradually dies away.

Part A returns, finishing with a flattened interrupted cadence a few bars before the end to lengthen it a little and add some finishing spice.

The piece ends with the instruments gradually reduced to give a pleasing change in sonority.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Piano trio
Modern classical music and Classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Short Piano trio

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...