William Baines: Island of the Fay


WILLIAM BAINES (1899-1922)
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Yorkshire composer William Baines (1899-1922) made this orchestral transcription of his piano piece "The Island of the Fay" (one of his set "A Last Sheaf") in 1919.

Sadly, he never heard it performed in his tragically short lifetime, despite having sent it to the conductor Hamilton Harty (along with "Thoughtdrift". It was rejected by the eminent conductor as the orchestral forces were deemed to be too large for the "slight" musical material.

The first performance was not given until 1974, by the Kensington Symphony Orchestra and Leslie Head, in St John’s Smith Square, London.

Orchestral parts are available on hire.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tim Brooke. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tim Brooke has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.