Valse Viennoise

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts

The Valse Viennoise dates originally from 1962, and was first written for piano solo. This was then re-arranged for violin and piano in 2000, and dedicated to Reginald Robins’s Kortne Hungarian Orchestra, who gave many Cafe Continental Concerts in the Plymouth area back in the sixties, and at which my parents and I were often guest soloists. It is cast in the style of a Fritz Kreisler Waltz, and would make an excellent short encore!

For its first public performance in May 2003, when it was played by top violinist, Peter Fisher, as part of a Gala Concert in aid of the WARChild charity at the City Museum, Plymouth, I have reworked some of the previous passage-work for violin and piano. The whole effect is for fun - it’s a stylistic pastiche - but for all that, should come off well in performance, even if both parts are now more demanding!

The attached photo is of Peter Fisher.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.