Paradies for Two!

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Flute)
Instrumental parts

It was Grieg who provided a second-piano accompaniment to Mozart’s C major Sonata, K545. His intention wasn’t to improve on the original, nor to change it significantly. This type of reworking has always interested me, as it provides its own unique challenges, just like composing from the raw.

I had already worked on an ’arrangement’ of the Paradies Toccata, in which I sought to bring it forward in time, though leaving the original intact. By doing this, as with a number of other well-known works I’ve similarly worked on, I am always aware that some will appreciate what’s involved and approve, others will not, which is always healthy. Just as a contrast with my earlier Ragtime treatment, I’ve made a reworking for flute and harpsichord (or piano). This is far closer to the original, but I certainly won’t be offended if anyone thinks I’ve just ’tacked on’ the flute bit! As far as I’m concerned, I’ve fashioned a piece for a different medium to provide two players with something to play - and it’s always good for the solo pianist to socialise! Take it, or leave it!
Oh, the title? - another corny one, I’m afraid - my parents used to sing a duet from an old musical, Maid of the Mountains, called Paradise for Two!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.