Home > Solo instrument > The First Christmas in Norway (complete version)

The First Christmas in Norway (complete version)

Year of composition
Albany F. Major
Difficult (Grades 7+)
30 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Voice)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This has been a long time in the preparation! It's essentially a piece for performing in a story-telling environment, and I think ideally suits three soloists taking turns, although it will work with only one. Most of the performance directions, and an explanation of the instrumental interludes, can be found in the programme note on the last page. Electronic performance cannot do justice to the melodic line, which needs to be very flexible and depends to a high degree on the dramatic and expresssive powers of the soloist.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Linda Fox. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Linda Fox has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.