Suite for Organ

Full details...
page one of Suite for Organ

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Suite for Organ is in five movements. Each movement lasts c.5 minutes, except the last, which lasts c.10.

The Suite may be performed as a whole, selected movements may be played together, or movements may be played individually. Although the Suite is essentially a concert work, the individual movements are suitable for use as voluntaries.

Mov I: Intrada This movement evokes something of the sound world of Kenneth Leighton, although Intrada is not a Leighton pastiche. It is a dissonant but tonally-centred movement that explores the relationships between contrasting ideas. It has great rhythmic drive and acidic harmonies.

Mov II: Aria This movement contains both lyrical melodies and contrapuntal writing.

Mov III: Fugue This mercurial movement is more scherzo than fugue – although getting your fingers and feet around it is no joke!

Mov IV: Scena Sensuous and just a little bit French, this movement calls for delicious registrations and a real sense of drama.

Mov V: Toccata-Sortie This grand finale to the Suite is a white-hot pot-boiler that has audiences on the edge of their seats. Its performance requires stamina (particularly on a mechanical action instrument), agility and (most of all) a huge amount of flair.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
31 minutes
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals with pedals])
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Suite for Organ

Reviews of Suite for Organ

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...