Canto VII, para soprano, guitarra y piano

page one of Canto VII, para soprano, guitarra y piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

When I was studying Journalism at the Universidad Católica de Chile, two of my classmates and friends were amateur musicians —Carmen Figueroa, a soprano, and Iván Valenzuela, a guitarist, tenor and composer himself—. As the three of us liked 'Altazor' by Chilean poet Vicente Huidobro, it came to me the idea of composing a piece with it. I chose the 'Canto VII' which is made of apparently meaningless, beautiful (euphonic) words. The work finally took the form of three movements: Nervioso; Intermezzo grazioso and Contemplativo, and it's written, of course, for soprano, guitar and piano but both the pianist and guitarist are asked to sing in the last bars of the Intermezzo. Although it may seem complex at the first sight, it is not a difficult work, at least technically speaking. I gave this 'Canto VII' to Carmen for her birthday and we made few rehearsals with Iván, but we never came to play it completely. The three movements are in the same file. I gave a little rest between them, so just wait some seconds. (For midi playing reasons I put cue notes in the parts where the singer makes long portamenti.)

Score ID
Year of composition
Vicente Huidobro
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Canto VII, para soprano, guitarra y piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...