String Quartet in D Minor

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

I only wrote this piece for my A Level composition, so it's not exactly great, but still, not being an amazing musician in anyway, I was very pleased with myself for being able to write it… I think there's a couple of 'bad' parts, but working on it has ceased, so this has ended up being the final version. I know it sounds a bit jumpy from section to section, and I would love to elaborate each one and make it longer, if time allowed, but for this particular thing it had to be under 3 minutes (3:04…).

Although maybe just an amateur with no real interest in becoming a composer, apart from for my own enjoyment, if it is possible, if you print off my work, then, just for my own interest, could you tell me why or who you are, but that is not a necessity, just politeness. Feedback is also much welcomed! Thanks.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gregory Carey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gregory Carey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.