Mendelssohn Motets 3: Am Himmelfahrtstage [Ascension Day]

Felix Mendelssohn arr. David Grace
David Grace
Full details...
page one of Mendelssohn Motets 3: Am Himmelfahrtstage [Ascension Day]

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The third of Six 8 part motets set around the Christian year. This one is related to Ascension Day. Some doubling of parts allows for variations in instrumentation.

Score ID
Felix Mendelssohn arr. David Grace
Year of composition
David Grace
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Brass band
Classical music
Related scores
A Mercy of Peace from Mass of St John Chrysostrom, Cherubic Hymn, Der Jager Abschied [The Hunter’s Farewell][Mendelssohn], Ave Maria [Elgar], Monteverdi: Qui Laudes Tuas Cantat, Traumerie [Schumann], Ave Maria [Mozart], Nunc Dimittis and Gloria [Mendelssohn], Mendelssohn Motets 4: In der Passionszeit [Passion Sunday], Mendelssohn Motets 5: Im Advent [Advent], Laudate Dominum [Charpentier], Ave Maria [Gounod], Mendelssohn Motets: 1 Weihnachten [Christmas Day], Ave Maria [Saint-Saens], Mendelssohn Motets 6: Am Charfreitage [Good Friday], O Rest in the Lord (Mendelssohn), Adoramus Te [di Lasso], Drop, Drop Slow Tears (Orlando Gibbons), Libera me Domine [Chopin?], Ave Maria [Haydn], Bach Chorale: Kyrie! Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, Eripe Me [di Lasso], O Magnum Mysterium [Gabrielli], Pie Jesu [Faure], Chorale: Eins ist not ach Herr dies eine[Bach], Psalm 43 [Mendelssohn], Vitoria: Motet: O Magnum Mysterium, Ave Maris Stella [Grieg], Chorale: Herr Gott, dich loben wir[Bach], Ein feste Burg [Bach], Hear the Voice and Prayer [ Tallis], Dona Nobis Pacem [Mozart], Komm Susser Tod [Bach], If Ye Love Me [Tallis], In Heaven Above [Grieg], Ave Verum [Gounod], Ave Verum Corpus [Byrd], Ave Verum [Elgar], Lift Up Your Heads, Panis Angelicus [Franck], Comfort Ye My People [Euphonium and Band], O For The Wings Of A Dove, Christ lay in the Bonds of Death [Bach], He Shall Feed His Flock, Sleepers Wake, Break Forth O Beauteous Heav’nly Light, Confirm in us, Lord God [Byrd], God is a Spirit [Sterndale Bennett], God so loved the world, Legend [Tchaikovsky], St Antoni Chorale, I Know That My Redeemer Liveth and Ave Verum Corpus (Mozart)

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Mendelssohn Motets 3: Am Himmelfahrtstage [Ascension Day]

Reviews of Mendelssohn Motets 3: Am Himmelfahrtstage [Ascension Day]

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...