Home > Trio > Away with Words (for Clarinet Trio)

Away with Words (for Clarinet Trio)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Modern classical music
Trio (Clarinet in Bb)

"Away with Words" is for two soprano clarinets in Bb and bass clarinet in Bb. The piece consists of three movements: I. Moderato: With a midirected sense of urgency II. Allegretto: Calmly, with a false sense of security III. Allegro: Don't let the syncopaths trip you Each movement is itself in a ternary form. The first movement is in 4/4 time, the second movement switches from 4/4 to 3/4 time and back again, and the third movement is primarily in 5/4 time. All three movements are rhythmic, and at times (especially the third movement) is highly syncopated. In addition, much of the piece is strongly modal, with a distinctly Jewish feel to it.

If you like this piece, please vote for it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by David Rubenstein. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com David Rubenstein has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.