Billy’s Rose - A Dramatic Monologue for String Quintet (two violins, viola, cello, and double bass)* [2005]

(two violins, viola, cello, and double bass)

Year of composition
George Sims
Difficult (Grades 7+)
13 minutes
Modern classical music
String quintet
Instrumental parts

Billy’s Rose started life as a novelty piece for string quintet (violins, viola, cello, and bass) in which each of the players takes up the narrative line when they are not playing. A version was soon suggested where a dedicated narrator does all the talking to the accompaniment of either String Quintet or String Orchestra. It was Jim Wingate who suggested Billy’s Rose as a good subject for a musically graphic setting with many opportunities for "word painting" - The thundering chariot, the fierce snowstorm, the flying rose etc.

Duration c. 14 minutes.

page one of Billy’s Rose - A Dramatic Monologue for String Quintet (two violins, viola, cello, and double bass)* [2005]ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jules Riley. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.