'n Visie van 'n Oorlog. (A Vision of a War.) for tenor and soprano, chorus and orchestra.

Year of composition
Miss. L. Kirsten
Difficult (Grades 7+)
19 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This work was inspired by a knife I have, called 'Rohan'. The idea of writing a work with the subject of War, however, only came later. I asked a friend, Laura Kirsten, to write me a text with the subject of war. She did, and then I wrote the music. The text is in Afrikaans. A translation, into English, is underway. The work is not based on a specific war but rather on the universal meaning of the word. In its essence an unnamed Soldier tells his tale, and a chorus reflects on the subject. The orchestra is also a 'character' that tells a tale sometimes of Happyness and sometimes of Sorrow. There is also a war between rhythm and beats throughout the work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gabriel Oberholzer. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gabriel Oberholzer has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.