Home > Large mixed ensemble > Mozart: Symphony No.40 in G minor, K.550 Mvt I. arr. wind dectet (10 players)(Double wind quintet of 2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Cl, 2 Hn, 2 Bsn)

Mozart: Symphony No.40 in G minor, K.550 Mvt I. arr. wind dectet (10 players)(Double wind quintet of 2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Cl, 2 Hn, 2 Bsn)

W A Mozart
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble

One of Mozart’s well loved symphonies: No.40 in G minor K.550 is here arranged for a wind dectet (10 players) made up of a double wind quintet. (2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Cl, 2 Hn, 2 Bsn). The 2 horn parts are mostly Mozart’s with a couple of additions of mine.They are written for natural horns in Bb alto and G. I have attempted to allocate the string parts equally round the other 8 wind players, the difficulty being, leaving somewhere for them to to breath! I have not transcribed the alto string part exactly, but have rearranged some of it as an arpeggio, making it easier for the wind player. It is still a longish blow (over 7 minutes without the repeat) but still fun to play.Hope you enjoy it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Ray Thompson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.