Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker Suite (Casse-Noissette)(Complete) arr. wind quintet

Nutcracker Suite

P I Tchaikovsky
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker Suite (Casse-Noissette)(Complete) arr. wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This complete arrangement is based on both the orchestral score and Tchaikovsky’s own piano arrangement. Some of the movements are abridged ( omitting some the the string passages) but still maintain the musicality of this music.. Ideal for those Christmas Gigs. The movements are: Overture Miniature: Complete March: Abridged Dance of Sugar Plum Fairy Trepak(Russian Dance): Complete Chinese Dance: Abridged Arabian Dance: Complete Dance of the Reed Flutes : Abridged Waltz of the Flowers:: Abridged The original version of this last mvt, for orchestra is quite long, and if transcribed fully would be bit of an endurance test for the wind player. I have removed some of the reprises of the main theme, and also removed the opening harp arpeggio. All the original melodies are still there. I have in certain sections omitted the relentless "oom pah pah" of the waltz., which can sound quite heavy on wind instruments. I have attempted to give all the players places to breath, and have not transcribed it for "tutti" all the way through. Some of the movements are available separately, or in different combinations. Clarinet part is for Bb/A clarinet but alternative Bb part provided for those players without an A clarinet.

Score ID
P I Tchaikovsky
Ray Thompson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
18 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

You might also like...