Caro mio ben [Italian aria] (voice + keyboard)

Come once again

Giuseppe Giordani (1743-1798) or Tommaso Giordani (1730-1806)
Full details...
page one of Caro mio ben [Italian aria] (voice + keyboard)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This aria, like many of the baroque and early classical periods, is known not from its original operatic source, but from publication in a collection edited by Parisotti, and published in the late 19th century. This collection quickly became a common source for salon and for recital music, and today it is the rare vocal recital which doesn't contain one or two of these arias as an introduction and warm-up.

This aria has long, graceful lines, with many changes in dynamics (volume), which allow a singer to display breath control and tone. The words are very simple, as in many of the baroque arias. "My dear treasure, at least believe me, without you, my heart mourns. Your faithful one is always sighing–cease, cruel one, such harshness." The aria then repeats, usually with vocal ornamentation at the singer's discretion.


Score ID
Giuseppe Giordani (1743-1798) or Tommaso Giordani (1730-1806)
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Giuseppe Giordani (1743-1798) or Tommaso Giordani (1730-1806)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Caro mio ben [Italian aria] (voice + keyboard)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...