Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra

George Gershwin
Full details...
page one of Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is a string octet arrangement of Gershwin’s famous Rhapsody in Blue. It features many instruments at various points and is exciting and challenging to play across the whole group. It has been performed many times and is an impressive concert item.

This arrangement will work with a larger string orchestra as well by simply doubling up the parts. There are also optional parts provided for glock, drum kit and timpani.

The first 2 or 3 bars will need to be rehearsed in order to make the trill, 2 glissandi and then the top B flat as smooth as possible - it should sound like one instrument.

Score ID
George Gershwin
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Classical music
Related scores
Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - string octet / string orchestra, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 2nd & 3rd movements - string quartet, Largo from Xerxes - string quartet, Canon and Gigue - string quartet, Toccata from Symphony No. 5 - string quartet, Joy To the World - string quartet, String Quartet in F for brass - brass quintet, Silent Night - string quartet, Fur Elise - string quartet, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - 'cello octet, 15 Christmas Carols for string quartet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - string quintet, Prelude in E minor, Op.28 No.4 CELLO SOLO - string quartet, Prelude in E minor, Op.28 No.4 VIOLA SOLO - string quartet, Prelude in E minor, Op.28 No.4 VIOLIN SOLO - string quartet, Divertissimo No.4 (Menuetto) - string quartet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - string quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - string quartet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - recorder quartet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - sax quartet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - string quartet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - wind quintet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - brass quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - string quartet, Rondo from The Abdelazer Suite - string quartet, David of the White Rock - string quartet, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - string quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - string quartet, All Through The Night - string quartet, Myfanwy - string quartet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - string quartet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - string quartet, Gymnopedie No.1 - string quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - string quartet, Suo Gan - string quartet and Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - string quartet

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra

Reviews of Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...