Home > Concert band / wind band > AND THEN SHALL YOUR LIGHT BREAK FORTH


Year of composition
ISAIAH 58:8 & PSALM 8:1
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Concert band / wind band

This setting of Chorus #42 of Elijah, is for Brass Septet. It can serve as accompaniment for choristers, with, or without organ. It can also serve as a work for brass ensemble, alone, and can be used in service or concert. I recommend the use of more than one on a part. This is because the work is rather long,not to mention "Full", which makes it tough on the lips, as well as on the lungs. The Trp.3 & Fr. Hn do double most of the time. This is primarily because they cover the chorister "tenor" line. The tempo changes are purely my own ideas. Feel free to experiment.



Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by H. L. Smith, II ASCAP. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com H. L. Smith, II ASCAP has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.