Grass Roots

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Violoncello)
Instrumental parts

“Grass Roots” was composed during 2009-2010 for tuba and piano and adapted for cello and piano by the composer in 2016. The inspiration for this composition was Ken Burn’s series on America’s National Parks. The composer was not only inspired by the beauty and grandeur of the parks, but also by the vision of a few people that turned into the reality, therefore the title of this composition. The first movement is called “A Voice in the Wilderness” and represents the voice of John Muir, who recognized the beauty of Yosemite and made an effort to preserve it for future generations. The lyrical sections reflect the beauty of the area and the chromaticism reflects the uncertainty of his efforts. “Conflicts” is the title of the second movement as it represents the opposing forces in the debate to create a national park system. Lively rhythm and counterpoint are used throughout the movement to express the opposing points of view and the heated arguments. The last movement, “Manifestations” is the realization of the dream of a national park system. The movement is lyrical and flowing and is designed to be both serene and awe-inspiring.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.