Universal Mysteries

Written in 2016, this piece is scored for trumpet, violin and piano at the request of the violinist Cathy Irons. It lasts a little under 5 minutes.

The title, Universal Mysteries, suggest the mysteries associated with religion but, more precisely for me, it is the mystery of spirituality that I have in mind. In addition, I have found that many scientific discoveries, starting with the findings of Albert Einstein, are very mystifying and often open up new questions about the universe around us.

The piece is in two sections: a very intense opening marked Andante; followed by a more relaxed section marked Poco Più Mosso. The melodies in the first section for trumpet and violin, marked misterioso, are in direct contrast to the chords played on the piano, forming a conflict. The melodies are based on a succession of two-note phrases. There are interludes where calmer scale-like passages appear, but these only suggest a sense of nervous expectancy of what might happen next.

The melodic material is also mainly given to trumpet and violin in the second section, with a harmonic accompaniment from the piano. The piece calms still further, rising at the end in a manner typical of the composer. The exact interpretation of the music is left to the listen to decide, although the listener will hear the two-note phrases at the start become prominent at the end.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.