La fille aux cheveux de lin (Alain Jacques / leconte de Lisle)

The girl with the flaxen hair

Alain Marie Jacques
Year of composition
Charles Leconte de Lisle (1818-1894)
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Voice + guitar
Instrumental parts

This poem by Leconte de Lisle is part of Chansons écossaises (Poèmes antiques, 1852), five poems inspired by the Scotch poet Burns. It has also inspired some work by Claude Debussy . In this setting Alain Jacques has brought some modifications to the text: the two words in square brakets in stanzas 2 & 3, and the two first verses of stanza 4 (the original text is given after the translation) and it is always possible for the singer to return to the original text if preferred.

Translation (AJ):

1. Sitting on the lucern in bloom Who sings so early in the fresh morning? It’s the girl with faxen hair, The beauty with cherry-red lips.

Chorus: Love in the summer clear sun, Has sung with the lark.

2. Your mouth has divine colours My dear and is tempting the kiss! On the grass in bloom will you have a chat? Girl with [blue eyes], and fine locks?


3. Don’t say no, cruel girl, Don’t say yes! I will hear better The long glance of your big eyes And your [sweet lip] ô my beauty.


4. [Your smiles are not insipid And if they invite me well I want] To kiss the flax of your hair, And press the crimson of your lips.


Original text by Leconte de Lisle: Stanza 2: "cils longs" Stanza 3: "lèvre rose" Stanza 4: "Adieu les daims, adieu les lièvres Et les rouges perdrix! je veux" Translation: Stanza 2: long lashes Stanza 3: pink lip Stanza 4: Goodbye deers, goodbye hares And the red partriges! I want

page one of La fille aux cheveux de lin (Alain Jacques / leconte de Lisle)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.