Home > Choir + keyboard > Mahler (arr. Lee): Symphony No. 3 5th movement, Piano Vocal Score (Version B for Alto solo, SSAA Chorus)

Mahler (arr. Lee): Symphony No. 3 5th movement, Piano Vocal Score (Version B for Alto solo, SSAA Chorus)

Es Sungen Drei Engel aus Des Knaben Wunderhorn

Gustav Mahler
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Achim von Arnim, Clemens Brentano
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Choir + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the piano vocal score to a choral arrangement of the 5th movement of Mahler’s Third Symphony, "Es Sungen Drei Engel" from Des Knaben Wunderhorn. This arrangement is one of 4 versions by Yoon Jae Lee, the curator of the Mahler Chamber Project. Version B is for alto solo and SSAA women’s chorus. This version omits the boy’s (children’s choir) and allows for performances of this work to be sung only by female voices. The alto solo remains unaltered from the original. This arrangement can be performed as a stand alone choral work with piano, with Yoon Jae Lee’s reduction for chamber orchestra or with Mahler’s original forces.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Yoon Jae Lee. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Yoon Jae Lee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.