Home > String orchestra > Brandenburg Concerto No. 6

Brandenburg Concerto No. 6

J.S. Bach
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
19 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Brandenburg Concerti by J.S. Bach are of course among a small collection of the finest music ever written. But alas, Bach knew nothing about the rarity of violi da gamba in the 21st Century when he wrote Number 6. So I've arranged it without a single viola da gamba, but for the two viola soloists and a normal string orchestra instead. I understand that others have also addressed the need for an arrangement such as this, but I haven't seen their work, and I trust that I've made at least a few different decisions from them. I've also edited some of the bowing and the soloists' fingering.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Virgil Barstad. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Virgil Barstad has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.