Home > Wind quintet > Tchaikovsky:Waltz from "The Sleeping Beauty"

Tchaikovsky:Waltz from "The Sleeping Beauty"

Opus 66

Pyotr Ilich Tchaikowsky arranged by Darrell Goforth
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts

This is an arrangement of the famous Waltz from Tchaikovsky's "Sleeping Beauty Ballet". I have taken it from the original orchestral score using the original key. At 3 minutes and 28 seconds, it is a somewhat abbreviated version. I have left out some of the repetitions in the original ballet. Without dancers to watch, the piece can be a little tedious.  This piece would be ideal in any situation where a little light music is required, possibly even Christmas or a wedding.

Questions and comments are always welcome at: dgoforth2@comcast.net "Like" me on Facebook at:https://www.facebook.com/goforthmusic/ and visit me on YouTube at: https://www.youtube.com/user/dgoforth2 

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Darrell Goforth. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Darrell Goforth has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.