The Palarishca Polka

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Piano four hands
Instrumental parts
Not available

Earlier this year, two of my piano students, both aged 10, wanted to enter an ensemble class in their Prep School’s annual music competition. Whilst there were a number of piano duets which we could possibly have used, in the end I decided to write a short piece for the two of them which they would, hopefully, enjoy rehearsing, and the audience would enjoy listening to, as well as exactly matching their particular strengths - enter The Palarishca Polka, a straightforward little pastiche. Isaac, who played secondo, is on a higher grade, so was very able to keep things going at the bass end. Ralph, on the other hand, appreciated the fact that his primopart was often in octaves. I am pleased to say that they won the competition!
Oh, - the title of the piece? The boys’ names are Ralph and Isaac, so the rest was just anagram and alliteration!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.