Home > Brass quartet > Brass Quartet - Cantiones Sacrae 1592

Brass Quartet - Cantiones Sacrae 1592

Hans Leo Hassler
Year of composition
Mike Lyons
Difficult (Grades 7+)
36 minutes
Classical music
Brass quartet
Related scores
Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 08. Tutte Le Bocche Belle, Brass Sextet - Mozart - Eine Kleine Nachtmusik - Movement 4, Wind Quartet - Serenata, Mixed Quartet - Intimations, Brass Quartet - Five 2-part Inventions - BWV 772, 773, 774, 775 and 778, Brass Quartet - Ach, Lieb, Hier Ist Das Herze., Brass Quartet - Hans Leo Hassler - Kyrie and Sanctus from Missa Secunda, Brass Sextet - Mozart - Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Movement 1., Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 07. Non sono in queste rive, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 06. Intorno a due vermiglie, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 04. Dolcissimi Legami, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 03. Bevea Fillide mia, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 2 - 15. La Bocca Onde, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 1 - 21. Arsi e alsi, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 1 - 19. Ardo si ma non t'amo, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 1 - 18. Donna s'io miro voi, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 1 - 17. Amor s'il tuo ferire, Brass Quintet - Monteverdi Madrigals Book 1 - 01. Ch'io Ami La Mia Vita, Brass Sextet w. percussion - Three By Three By Three, Off-Beat Christmas, Brass Quartet - A Gabrieli Suite, Brass Choir - Amor - Lamento della Ninfa, Brass Quartet - 10. Ego Sum Resurrectio, Brass Choir - Four Gastoldi Madrigals, Brass Quartet - 14. Magnificat il Settimo Tono, Brass Quartet - 09. Inter Natos Mulierum, Brass Quartet - 11. Tu Es Petrus, Brass Sextet - Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op.92, What Shall We Do With The Drunken Sailor? - Oh Sinner Man, Brass Quartet - 08. Beata Es Virgo Maria, Brass Quartet - 07. Dixit Maria, Brass Trio - Allegretto (Clementi), Brass Quartet - 13. Magnificat sul Quinto Tono, Brass Quartet - 04. Beatus Vir, Brass Quintet - All’Elevazione, Brass Quartet - 06. Diligam Te, Domine, Brass Quintet - Four 3-Part Inventions BWV 788, BWV 792, BWV 794 and BWV 799, Brass Quartet - 05. Domine Deus Meus, Brass Quartet - 12. Quia Vidisti Me, Thoma, Brass Choir - Donizetti - Bella Figlia Dell'Amore, Brass Trio - Giga (Zipoli), Brass Quartet - 02. Cantate Domino à4, Brass Quartet - 01. Angelus Ad Pastores, Brass Quintet - O Mensch, Bewein' Dein' Sünde Groß, Brass Quintet - In Dulci Jubilo, Brass Trio - Les Baricades Misterieuses, Brass Quintet - Gigue from Partita No. 6, Brass Quartet - French Suite No 3 BWV 813, Brass Quintet - Lobet Den Herr'n Alle Heiden BWV 230, Brass Quartet - Bass Soonest (Low Brass), Brass Quartet - Quartet No 1., Brass Quartet - French Suite No 5 BWV 816, Brass Choir - Magnificat a8 (Gastoldi), Magnificat a 8 for two 4-part brass choirs, Brass Sextet - Le Tic-Toc Choc a6 and Brass Quartet - O Magnum Mysterium

This is a transcription of 14 items from Hassler’s 1592 Cantiones Sacrae. The full contents are: 1. Angelus Ad Pastores

2. Cantate Domino

3. Beati Omnes

4. Beatus Vir

5. Domine Deus Meus

6. Diligam Te, Domine

7. Dixit Maria

8. Beata Es Virgo Maria

9. Inter Natos Mulierum

10. Ego Sum Resurrectio

11. Tu Es Petrus

12. Quia Vidisti Me, Thoma

13. Magnificat sul Quinto Tono

14. Magnificat sul Settimo Tono

The instrumentation is flexible, constituting:

Part 1 (Bb), Part 2 (Bb/Eb/F), Part 3 (Bb/Eb/F) and Part 4 (Bb/Eb/C).

The F parts do not use Key signatures and the C part is in Bass clef. All other parts are in transposed treble clef.

This is not intended as an ’edition’, but is merely a transcription for the instruments. There are many uses to which this music can be put, including church services and concerts. Each individual piece is self-contained and they can be used in any order if not in a liturgical setting.

Some movements have been transposed to make them more idiomatic for brass.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Mike Lyons. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.