This collection of Minuets has been arranged for recorder quartet from a publication by Telemann in 1728 entitled, "Sept fois Sept et Un" in two parts, a melody line and a basso continuo. The 50 pieces were composed in various keys, perhaps to be performed on a variety of instruments such as violin, recorder, oboe lute, mandolin or other melody instrument. I have selected several that I found work well for recorder group. In this arrangement, the melody line is taken directly as written by Telemann and the bass part was taken from the basso continuo line, with minor changes, while the other two parts, Alto and Tenor, were deduced from the chord structure in the figured bass. In some cases, the key was changed to make it more playable with the recorder quartet. It is my hope that these pieces will provide many enjoyable moments for recorder groups of all ages and abilities. Very few extra ornaments have been added to the score, however, that shouldn’t preclude the performer from putting them in, especially on the repeats, as was often the practice in Baroque times to add embellishments the second time through to give variety to the music and to give the performer an opportunity to demonstrate his/her playing skills. The arrangements in this collection were first put together in the summer of 2011 and 2012 for a small gathering of recorder players in Windsor, Ontario, where we would meet together once a week to go over the recorder reportoire that a former music teacher had compiled over the years. These were always always very enjoyable sessions, and this collection of minuets added a few more pages to the 1000 plus that we had to choose from. The arranger, Peter Baljeu, (born 1944 in the Netherlands) is a retired teacher whose career included teaching music (vocal, recorders, theory, etc.) to thousands ofstudents. Now he enjoys writing music (composing for orchestra, concert band, choirs, and small groups) as needed.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Baljeu. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Baljeu has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.