Beethoven: ContreTänze No.1(after Seiss) - wind quintet

L van Beethoven
Full details...
page one of Beethoven: ContreTänze No.1(after Seiss) - wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Contre-Tanze (Country Dance) No.1 (adapted Seiss)

Beethoven wrote 12 Country Dances WoO14 for orchestra .

They are all quite short: some have trios.

They are probably better known as a set of 3 piano pieces called Contre-Tanzes which are noted "frei bearbeitet von Isidor Wilhelm Seiss" (freely adapted by Isidor Wilhelm Seiss)

Isidor Seiss (23 December 1840 – 25 September 1905) was a German composer, conductor, pianist, piano pedagogue and philanthropist.

They have a "romantic feel" to them.

Each one of Seiss's 3 country dances are made up of extracts (or the complete dance) from 3 of Beethoven's. In some cases he uses only the trio, other times he uses the first 8 bars. Extracts are also transposed when needed to fit the home key of the piece.

My arrangement is based on the musical layout of Seiss's Dance Number 1 which utilises Beethoven's as follows: No. 1, No.3 and No.11, followed by a reprise of Nos. 1 & 3

Seiss freely adapts Beethoven's melodies and chordal structure.

I have used Beethoven's original orchestration as a guide to give a more authentic classical sound.

The horn part is for a natural horn in C basso. (Horn in F is provided as well.)

It should be performed with repeats, with no repeats on the D.C.

I have ignored the coda from Seiss's arrangement.

Hope you enjoy it.

Score ID
L van Beethoven
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Beethoven: ContreTänze No.1(after Seiss) - wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...