Night: Concerto for Flute and Orchestra

Full details...
page one of Night: Concerto for Flute and Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This concerto mirrors the feelings and thoughts of a child as he passes the night. The first movement, "Sweetdreams," conveys the love between child and parent as he is tucked in for the night. The second movement, "Shadows," reflects the shadows dancing up and down on the child's walls. Some are big and menacing, others are small and harmless, but all of them are constantly moving. In the third movement, "Twilight and Dawn," the music mood reflects the light of the sky. It starts out dark and gradually becomes lighter and lighter.

This piece is rated moderate because of the lyrical aspects of the piece. The intonation of the group in general is critical, as well as the timing of each of the instruments. The flute player must have a pretty good range to play some of the passages, and both cadenzas can be totally rewritten at the flautist's discretion. A full set of parts can be arranged for performance purposes.

Revised August 10, 2003

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
11 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Night: Concerto for Flute and Orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...