Nimrod Variation IX from Enigma Variations

Enigma Variations, No. 9

Edward Elgar arranged by Darrell Goforth
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts

"Nimrod" is the ninth variation from Elgar's "Variations on an Original Theme" also known as the "Enigma Variations". This variation is set to portray Augustus J. Jaeger, hence Nimrod the hunter and is the most commonly performed movement in the set. It is always played at the Cenotaph, Whitehall in London on Remembrance Day and has been set in many different arrangements for groups ranging from dual pianos to Wind Band. I have set it here as an arrangement for Woodwind Quintet after the suggestion of my friend and bassoonist, Ray Patricio. I hope you will enjoy my efforts. Any comments or questions are always welcome at "Like" me on Facebook at and visit my Youtube channel at

page one of Nimrod Variation IX from Enigma VariationsASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Darrell Goforth. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.