Downloading a copy of this score entitles the purchaser to make up to 30 copies – that’s why the single download price is $30.

Missa ’Tu es Petrus’ (You are Peter) was first performed in Peterborough Cathedral in August 2003 by the St Teilo Singers.

The outer sections of the Kyrie feature a stormy organ part that contrasts with the more ’grounded’ (rock-like) choral writing. The central section (Christe eleison) is more contrapuntal than the outer sections. The Kyrie is the most aggressively dissonant movement of this Mass setting.

The Gloria is the longest movement in this Mass setting and features contrasting sections. There is some sub-division of the voices and opportunity for solo work.

The opening of the Sanctus suggests mystery, but the mood gradually changes to one of jubilant praise.

The Benedictus begins in a contrapuntal style; but, at the word ’Hosanna’, material from the Sanctus returns and the mood once again becomes gradually more jubilant.

It is in the Angnus Dei that the plainsong ’Tu es Petrus’ finally reveals itself in full and in its original form (tenor bb.37-40). Elements of the plainsong may be found throughout this Mass setting, but only motivically. The appearance of the entire plainsong in its original form towards the close of the work helps to bring the Mass to a satisfying conclusion and is linked to the prayer that we may be granted peace: ’Dona nobis pacem’.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.