Yes, I Know from Gitanjali

Year of composition
Rabindranath Tagore
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts

The first non-European to receive the Noble Prize for Literature (1913), Bengalese writer Rabindranath Tagore continues to be celebrated for his verses’ evocations of intense spiritual and sensual experiences. Working during the climax of British India, the Gitanjali collection of one hundred and three poems exemplify his talents, drawing from both the Romantic European tradition as well as the devotional traditions and spirituality of his country.

This musical setting draws from the following complete text

"Yes, I know, this is nothing but thy love, O beloved of my heart–- this golden light that dances upon the leaves, these idle clouds sailing across the sky, this passing breeze leaving its coolness upon my forehead.

The morning light has flooded my eyes–- this is thy message to my heart. Thy face is bent from above, thy eyes look down on my eyes, and my heart has touched thy feet."

I sought to express the unsung passages of the poem in the music itself, using their imagery to inspire the general mood and contour of the composition.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Benjamin Sajo. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Benjamin Sajo has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.