Prelude, Passacaglia, and Fugue for String Orchestra

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Chorale Arranged for String Orchestra, A Cold Winter Day, Little Pieces for Elementary String Ochestra, A Supplement for Elementary Orchestra Instruction Mixolydian Melody, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra, A Supplement for Secondary Orchestra Instruction, Orchestral Variations on the Theme of A Cold Winter Day, Concerto No. 1 in A Minor for Guitar and String Orchestra II. Largo, Losing Sight of Shore, Arranged for Young Orchestra, Losing Sight of Shore, Harmonic Tango Arr. for String Orchestra, String Symphony No. 1 in A minor, IV. Allegro, String Symphony No. 1 in A minor, I. Andante, String Symphony No. 1 in A minor, III. Scherzo and Adagio, String Symphony No. I in A minor, II. Adagio, Along the Columbia, A Musical Landscape, Country Serenade, Country Serenade for H S Orchestra, Prayer for String Orchestra, Prayer for String Orchestra Arr. for H.S. Orchestra, Rondo Variations for String Orchestra, Pensiero for String Symphony, String Symphony No. 2 I. Moderato, String Symphony No. 2 II. Adagio, String Symphony No. 2 III. Andante, String Symphony No. 2 IV. Allegro, String Quintet No. 1 I. Moderato, String Quintet No. 1 II. Adagio, String Quintet No. 1 III. Andante, String Quintet No. 1 IV. Allegro, String Symphony No. 3 IV. Andante, String Symphony No. 3 I. Moderato, String Symphony No. 3 II. Adagio, String Symphony No. 3 III. Allegro and Largo, Allegro Giocoso for String Orchestra, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra Allegro Giocoso, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra Desiderio, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra Largo Pensoso, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra Little Fugue, Little Pieces for Young Orchestra Chaconne Polonese, Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra Waltz Gioioso and Cannons and Interludes for Young String Orchestra

This 7 minute piece is suitable for both HS Orchestra or professional orchestra. Suggested fingerings are written in the violin scores.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Sabra Lindgren. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Sabra Lindgren has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.