Home > Solo instrument + piano > night flocks of angels trumpet

night flocks of angels trumpet

for violin and piano

Joseph Sowa
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts

Inspired by puns about the natural world, “night flocks of angels trumpet” is a lyrical solo suitable for a good high school violinist.

The piece is an arrangement of the ninth movement of my chamber work A Field Guide to Natural History, the program of which is as follows: “. . . Cloudburst. Springtime pokes its head through the daisies. A sodden quandary of mud puzzles. Foxfire and fern frost. Ruins of flora. Fire flies sparks spidering toward stars. Thorns thistles brambles and briers. Heaving and dearth. Night flocks of angels trumpet. Rainbows end.”

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Joseph Sowa. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Joseph Sowa has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.