Inventions for Brass Trio

Full details...
page one of Inventions for Brass Trio

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The title "Inventions' has a double meaning. The first meaning is that each movement represents a significant invention. The second meaning is each movement has sections reminiscent of a musical invention, a short contrapuntal composition that is usually based on a single theme.

Movement 1 – The Wheel – This movement is a perpetual motion in triple meter.

Movement II – The Metronome - The music in this movement represents a mechanical, wind-up metronome.

Movement III – The Periscope - The movement is in an ABA'B' form. The A section, with its dark colors and slow 6/8 represents a submarine, lurking under water. The B section begins with ominous sounds that accompany the rising of the periscope and the scanning of the horizon for destroyers and for prey.

Movement IV – Morse Code – The form of this movement is ABA’B’AB’’A’Coda. The A section rhythmically spells out the words “brass trio” in Morse code, first homophonically and then contrapuntally. The B sections spell out the names of the instruments playing the musical line in Morse code. The Coda spells out the words "the end" in Morse code.

Movement V – The Airplane - This movement begins with a celebratory section in 7/8 and 6/8 representing the success of the Wright Brothers. After this festive beginning, a sustained melody represents the first flight that lasted 12 seconds with Orville at the controls. This melody also lasts 12 seconds. Accompanying the sustained melody is the steady staccato eighth note rhythm representing the sound of the motor. After a short celebratory interlude, another sustained “melody of flight” occurs with Wilbur is at the controls. The staccato eighth note “motor” accompaniment changes into a flowing triplet figure during 59-second flight, the longest of 1903. The “flight” melody now lasts 59 seconds as well. After a “soft” landing of the “flight” melody, the “celebration” theme ends the movement in a festive and exciting manner.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Brass trio
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Inventions for Brass Trio

Reviews of Inventions for Brass Trio

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...