4 minutes 30 secs - 5 Minutes

2 Cornets, Eb Horn, Trombone (TC) F Tuba + Drum Kit and tubular bells

Extra available parts: F Horns Trombone (BC) Baritone (BC) F Tuba (BC)

A Witch’s Musical Quair is a collection of spooky tunes for junior brass ensemble, drum kit (including a suspended triangle) and tubular bells (Glockenspiel with hard rubber sticks can be used).

Mike Robertson of Carnoustie, Scotland asked for a new piece for his Halloween brass ensemble concert.

Since Scotland’s cultural cauldron bubbles with haunted castles, ghosts and stories like Burns’ Tam O’Shanter and MacBeth, musically it felt appropriate to start at home!

‘A Witch’s Musical Quair’ begins with a solemn Strathspey called ‘Stregata (‘bewitched’ in Italian). A wonky clock strikes 13 followed by a demonic C major chord depicting bright moonlight brays in the darkness. The skeletons rise from their catacombs and march round the grave yard. As the inhabitants of the night return to their tombs, the witch’s black cat dances a celebratory and gleeful waltz.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jerry Randalls. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jerry Randalls has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.