The Swan, (Le Cygne), by Saint-Saens, for Cello and Piano

Camille Saint-Saens
Full details...
page one of The Swan, (Le Cygne), by Saint-Saens, for Cello and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Le Cygne, or The Swan, is the penultimate movement of Camille Saint-Saens’ 1886 suite, Carnival of the Animals. Most often played as a solo piece for cello with piano, the original version was scored for solo instrument and two pianos. It was the only movement for the Carnival that the composer allowed to be heard in public during his lifetime. This version for Cello with Piano accompaniment has been arranged in Tenor clef to best suit the key and pitch of the solo instrument. The pdf file contains both the piano accompaniment and the separate solo part.

Musicians at an intermediate level and above will find this ideal for formal and informal performances. The melody is expressive and legato; the piano accompaniment is challenging in its constant semiquaver arpeggios. The overall performance time is around three minutes.

Teachers will enjoy using this arrangement as a fun way to help with expressive playing. The legato in both parts demand precise fingers.

Score ID
Camille Saint-Saens
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Solo Solo Violoncello + piano
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Swan, (Le Cygne), by Saint-Saens, for Cello and Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...