March-Scherzo from Symphony No. 1

Camille Saint-Saens
Full details...
page one of March-Scherzo from Symphony No. 1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The download is a single PDF file that includes the full score and all instrumental parts.

Camille Saint-Saëns was only 17 when he wrote his first published symphony. But he already had a mature mastery of orchestral writing, along with the courage to defy convention: A march takes the place of the normal triple-meter scherzo movement. It's an unconventional march that starts with an elegant melody, surveys a wide range of emotions, and dissipates into a quiet ending. It's really neither a march nor a scherzo, but something all its own.

This colorful concert band arrangement was written for an adult community band. It's appropriate for a college or community band, or an adventurous high school wind ensemble. It features two solo flutes, two solo clarinets, soprano saxophone, vibraphone, and marimba (the vibraphone part is cued to allow performance without the marimba). It also requires strong oboe and bassoon players. Extensive cues allow rehearsal and performance without oboes, bassoons, soprano saxophone, and/or mallet percussion.

The audio clip is a complete performance by the Peninsula Symphonic Winds.

Instrumentation: Flute 1A and 1B (two solo players) / Flute 2 / Oboe 1-2 / Clarinet 1A and 1B (two solo players) / Clarinet 2-3 / Alto Clarinet / Bass Clarinet / E-flat Contra-alto clarinet (optional alternate for string bass) / B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional alternate for string bass) / Bassoon 1-2 / Soprano Saxophone / Alto Saxophone / Tenor Saxophone / Baritone Saxophone / Trumpet 1-2-3 / Horn 1-2-3-4 / Trombone 1-2-3 / Euphonium / Baritone T.C. / String Bass / Vibes / Marimba (Vibes part has cues for performance without marimba)

Score ID
Camille Saint-Saens
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of March-Scherzo from Symphony No. 1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...